Bedingfeld Arms

Testimonials

What our customers say about us…

“Perfect Venue for a Celebratory Meal, With Comfortable accommodation”

We stayed in the Coach house rooms for a long week end as we were attending a family Birthday Celebration on the Sunday in the Beautiful Garden room.Our room was cosy and just right with comfortable beds and a en suite Bathroom.The Coach house rooms are separate from the main Hotel which makes for a quieter nights rest.The staff were absolutely brilliant and so helpful ,the Bar and restaurant are comfortable with great Decor,interesting art work adorns the walls.It was my sisters 70th Birthday and she had booked the Garden Room for 14 Guests.It was perfect with beautiful views across the Garden and spacious,Light,and the doors at one end completely fold back to give an impression that the outside was inside.We had the whole room to ourselves and were allowed to decorate it with Bunting and balloons.The tables were laid out just as required plus there was music/via an I.pad for our selection if required.We had a choice from the Menu which is very good and I plumped for the Sunday Roast and it was delicious.We ate in the Restaurant on the Saturday Evening too and the Pork Belly was also very good.The breakfast was a choice of Cooked or Cereals and toast with fresh fruit and they were also very generous and tasty.From the Bedingfeld you can visit many places so it is an ideal venue for touring the area with the added bonus of some lovely countryside walks.I would definitely go back for another stay.Well done Giles for making our stay and My sister’s Birthday a special day to remember.Thanks also to all the staff who were just as helpful..August 2017

“Fantastic location for family gathering”

Visited the Bedingfeld Arms for my mum 70th Birthday celebration. What a fantastic venue. Catkins & Giles were wonderful hosts, and all the staff in particular the cheerful Charlotte our waitress couldn’t do more to make it a special afternoon.
The pub is in a beautiful setting opposite Oxburgh hall, it had a lovely pub garden which is ideal for dogs & families. We had hired the Oak & Stone room a private function to the side of the main pub. This was a perfect setting for my mums celebrations. We ordered starters & mains and all our party couldn’t fault any of the dishes which were all extremely well presented and full of flavour.
The pub also has rooms to stay and managed to have a sneak in one of them, they looked very welcoming and would recommend a stay. I want to say a special thanks to all the staff for making my mums big birthday a true success and everyone went away with big smiles on their faces. We will all be returning for another visit very soon.August 2017

“Excellent”

We had been to Gooderstone water gardens nearby, so called in here for lunch..we were greeted so warmly, made to feel very welcome. We had sandwiches..yummy, bacon and Brie and hubby had steak and caramelised onion….if these are anything to go by the restaurant food should be 5 star..staff were really friendly and we are definitely going back.. Well done , makes a change to have such super customer service.August 2017

“Dinner whilst on holiday in Northwold”

Lovely evening out in a cozy pub atmosphere but with a proper restaurant, nice menu lovely starters, more fish choices for the main course would have been nice but I am fish fanatic. Great service. Lovely walks around the pub and perfect to end our walk with our dog in the pub garden, very dog friendly.August 2017

“Great pub, good food, lovely building and great location!”

Stopped here for lunch on a Saturday the pub looked very inviting and the location was great. The weather was lovely and the big garden was really nicely set out with quite a few benches but they are not on top of each other so you still have some privacy, which was handy for us as they were very pet friendly so we had our dog, but there were other dogs and ours is very people friendly but not very dog friendly (Jack Russell/ Fox Terrier cross so small dog syndrome!!!) so this was perfect!

We ordered the Chedder Cheese with Branston pickle and the Chicken and mustard mayonnaise all of which came with crisps, side salad, and choice of white or granary bread. And very nice it was as well. The menu is quite good with some interesting main courses and starters if you want a full meal. It isn’t the cheapest menu but the sandwich choice was certainly good quality and I would say reasonable value for money.

The pub itself is lovely with a great extension that has been very thoughtfully added with beams and glass and the service was very good indeed the 2 young lads behind the bar were very good and extremely polite (very refreshing to be called “sir” instead of “mate” for a change!) and they were very efficient.

All in all a very enjoyable lunch in a great pub with a lovely garden with a lovely atmosphere and will visit again for sureJuly 2017


“Debbie”

We stay in The Bedingfeld Arms Saturday 1st & Sunday 2nd July. We had the disabled room no5 as my mum is in a wheelchair and another room no3. From the time we arrived till the time we left the staff were amazing they couldn’t do enough for us. The rooms were clean and tidy. Breakfast was great fresh cooked croissants, orange or apple juice, tea or coffee then you had a choice of things from the menu. We had Sunday roast which was lovely and then sandwiches in the evening. We will defiantly stay here again and I would just like to say thank you to all the staff for making our stay so enjoyable.July 2017

“What a lovely surprise!”

I lived a short distance from the once local village pub a few years ago. I took my sister here for her birthday lunch and was amazed at the change. Great menu,wonderful setting and loved the country house theme….lots of oak,comfy sofas/chairs that are great for bad backs…..and the food was really good as was the staff/owner.
Very very nice and I will definitely be going back. Absolutely scores a 10 for ambiance/menu/staff….and if pushed for a negative it would be the lack of choice for vegetarians,other than that…..sumptuous!!!!!July 2017

“Fabulous location and very attentive staff”

I’m surprised at a couple of recent negative reviews as I was very impressed with this place. The staff are great and really do care. It is dog friendly if you stay in the stable rooms, which with their massive beds and own front door, are superb.The location is very pretty & quiet, with the National Trust’s Oxborough Hall next door. The staff are friendly and professional, the food is good and prepared with quality ingredients. A lovely place to stay if you want a country retreat plus a great menu using local produce.June 2017

“Beautiful Place”

We stayed for 2 nights last week and had a lovely stay.
Beautifully decorated, very clean and tidy, great setting and friendly and helpful staff.
Great cooked breakfast in the morning, eaten al fresco in the gardens whilst the kids played garden games. Wouldn’t hesitate to recommend.June 2017

“Stay here if you’re visiting Oxburgh Hall”

We are keen members of the National Trust. Bedingfeld Arms was perfect for visiting Oxbrugh Hall which is a five minute walk away. The hotel has great charm and a special atmosphere. I bought a book from the fantastic selection of second hand book shop at Oxbrugh Hall then spent the rest of the day reading by the log fire at the Bedingfeld Arms. The food was delicious and imaginative and reasonably priced. Loved the eggs benedict for breakfast. Our room in the stables was small but pretty. Highly recommended.May 2017

“Great food, beautiful destination”

Lovely pub next to Oxburgh hall, perfect location for light lunch or a Sunday roast. Dog friendly and great atmosphere. Food is tasty and reasonably priced, thoroughly recommend to people in the vicinity, although worth a detourMay 2017

“Lovely atmosphere and great food”

We only had a one night stay but wish it could have been longer. We all stayed in the main building in the three rooms overlooking the front. The rooms are all individually furnished, very comfortable and quiet. We received a warm welcome from the staff. We arrived quite early and had a sandwich lunch (excellent) by the roaring fire where we were very comfortable until our rooms were ready. We were given a round table for dinner which was perfect and the food was absolutely delicious. The service was excellent.. We had been to the Bedingfeld for lunch a couple of times before but our friends were visiting for the first time. Both couples said they would definitely go back again. It was very busy, both at lunch time and in the evening. Breakfast was cooked to order and was very good. The Bedingfeld is a little off the beaten track but well worth finding, not least because it is situated just across the road from Oxborough Hall (National Trust) which is also a great place to visit. We will certainly be going back to the Bedingfeld Arms before too long.April 2017

“Simply Perfect!”

My wife & I returned to the Bedingfield with friends to celebrate a birthday – we were not to be disappointed. After a friendly welcome from the staff in the well stocked bar, we were shown to our table in one of the pleasant eating areas of this fine old coaching inn. In keeping with the rest of the building, the decor is appropriately comfortable, simple & attractive. From the outset, the service from the young staff & indeed from the helpful & good humoured proprietor, was friendly, attentive & accommodating. As on our previous visits, we found the food & the wines to be of a consistently high standard. Presentation was excellent & all three courses were tasty & most enjoyable. The style was certainly not just ‘pub grub’, yet thankfully neither was it fussily pretentious – just good, fresh, locally sourced seasonal food. On a warm, sunny day with Breckland at its Springtime best, our overall experience was – well,simply perfect!April 2017

“Another Great Meal and Fantastic Atmosphere”

Food excellent again. Never disappoints. Great atmosphere. This little oasis in the middle of central norfolk. Can go here as a couple, on your own or with friends and enjoy a friendly welcome. After dinner sat by the fire. No pressure to leave and not pushed to buy more drinks. Well done againMarch 2017

“Beautifully Kept in a Good Setting”

Great pub within a lovely village. Kept immaculately. Friendly staff. Lots to look at and Oxburgh Hall just a few yards walk away.March 2017

“Pleasant Establishment”

A must visit if you go to tour the Hall. The food and service was immediately friendly. The atmosphere was very relaxing. Their food was great! We learned that their food is mainly acquired locally and you can certainly tell. I would highly recommend.March 2017

“Sunday Lunch”

We were visiting Family who are new to area and this was recommended. Absolutely A* 3 of us had beef roast, 1 had ham, egg & chips. Service was impeccable as soon as you walked in the door and food was amazing too. Will definitely visit again next time we’re in NorfolkMarch 2017

“Very welcoming and food delicious “

Just got back from visiting my son who lives near the Bedingfeld. Giles made us welcome as soon as we walked through the door. From the delicious mocktail created by Giles through lunch, dinner, a fantastic nights sleep in the warm cosy Red Room to breakfast in the Oak and Stone room this morning, everything was just perfect.
Good choice of beer on tap, some lovely wines and very attentive staff topped it all off nicely. Thank you Giles and the staff. We will be back.February 2017

“Short Dash”

Dropped in for a cuppa after visiting the Hall nextdoor. Lovely homely, welcoming local pub. Very relaxed with log fires, leather sofas and lovely bar. Staff very friendly. Nice restaurant and extensive menu from bar snacks to the full monty. Elegant decor and imagine this is a locals paradise with entertainment and special evenings on tap along with the Ales. Worth trying as a stand alone visit and would be worth the drive I assure you.February 2017

“Fabulous”

We booked in advance, with great times and tables available. Staff always thorough and we even recieved a follow up phone call afterwards.
We have been here quite a few times on recommendations. The service is special and you are made to feel at ease straight away. We arrived with a 3 month old baby and nothing was any trouble. The food is always very well presented and that follows on to the taste too. The wine list is to our tastes with very reasonable prices.We have never had a bad experience, although not quite walking distance (20 minutes in a car) it’s definitely worth the trip. We will be booking again in May and hopefully we will book all the rooms for an overnight stay.
Great work to the team, keep up good work.February 2017

“Hidden Gem”

Visited last weekend off the back of a recommendation from a friend – and wasn’t disappointed… Nice cosy bar, open fire, comfy seating – great for a lazy afternoon watching the rugby & getting to know the locals..  Evening meal was very nice, as was the breakfast & the rooms hit the spot…All in all a great overnight stay at a reasonable price.. Very impressed..February 2017

“Wonderful Place to Stay”

This was my second overnight stay at the Bedingfield Arms and the experience was just as good as my first trip. The rooms are large, comfortable and well appointed with good wifi. The pub itself is welcoming and warm and serves both delicious food and a good selection of beer. I came here on business both times but would thoroughly recommend for tourists and work alike. Looking forward to my hattrick!February 2017

“Fantastic Sunday Roast”

Just had a spectacular Sunday roast at the Beddingfeld, great food served by professional and courteous staff in a well looked after and excellently appointed dining room, will definitely be returning with more friends.January 2017

“Lunch with Our Family”

Superb meal . A special visit for us today with our large family. The food was amazing,beautifully served,impeccable service. They were very helpful at every request. All of us impressed from first setting foot in the restaurant to leaving there couple of hours later. Thank you.January 2017

“Perfect Christmas”

All I can say is “Perfect”! We stayed for 4 nights over Christmas and the team at the Bedingfeld did all they could to make this a special family stay. The room was spacious and very cosy and comfortable on the cold nights. Breakfast was a good selection and they accommodated our requests. The family dinner booked for 12 on Christmas Eve went without hitch and the Manager (Giles) was superb. His energy and sense of humour brought that something special to our stay. Food was great at every meal. Everything about the Bedingfeld was warm and welcoming and it wouldn’t have been so without Giles and the team – legends. Lots of small touches like prosecco with brekkie on Christmas Day and the Christmas Cards were all lovely additions. And the locals in the bar were amazingly friendly too – a real village feel. I would not hesitate to stay again. Absolutely fab!December 2016

“Peaceful Retreat”

We loved this little country retreat, great staff and great food and drink. Very tasteful establishment. They all made us feel welcome, the room we stayed in was beautiful and the bed was so comfy, it’s one of the best away nights sleep I’ve ever had.December 2016

“Wonderful atmosphere again”

Haven’t been for a while but managed to bump into most of west norfolk. There was a fire burning, people sitting playing cards while a chap with his dog sat by the fire. Our muddy dog, fresh from the shoot(the other norfolk passion is fine wine and food)
Joined the other dog laying by the fire while we had a chin wag.December 2016

“Sunday Lunch”

Great pub for Sunday lunch – the roast beef was the best I’ve had this year! The fish pie my wife had was also excellent. Very friendly cosy atmosphere with the fire in the bar. Would highly recommend this place!November 2016

“A Present”

A night here was a present from our daughter, greeted wonderfully, pleasant and polite, food and room both amazing. Nothing too much trouble. Would definitely recommend this for a special occasionNovember 2016

Why have we only just found this place?

The previous week we went to an Apple Day at Oxborough, immediately opposite the Bedingfield. Looking across we thought, “There’s somewhere we have never tried” and managed to rectify that within six days.

The ambience is delightful. It is a tastefully modernised country inn, very welcoming from the moment you cross the threshold. Some lovely little touches such as the ready folded drip mats on the floor by the table legs on the ever-so-slightly wonky floor. Wobbly table fixed in an instant, this made us smile.

Real ales, not served overly cold as seems to be becoming the fashion. Friendly but largely unobtrusive service. Sometimes the service is not absolutely on the top line with empty glasses left too long on the table, but nothing likely to spoil enjoyment of the food.

A sensibly short menu on the Saturday night with enough choice and at the same time the likelihood that it will be individually prepared. It certainly tasted that way. A decent wine list, realistically priced. There were some intriguing combinations and the food when it arrived was delightfully presented, well cooked and very tasty. I’m still sorry I was too late for the last of the butternut squash and goat’s cheese soup for that night. We ate and drank well and the bill only just nudged over the £100.

Twenty minutes door-to-door from our home. I’m guessing the Bedingfield has not seen the last of us.November 2016


“Good Value”

Clean and modern in style. Comfortable beds, good wifi. Bathroom also good but no hairdryer. Tv reception and mobile reception a problem in this area but not one the hotel is responsible for! Friendly staff.October 2016

“Great Location”

Very good overall stay here for one night, clean spacious room with good wifi. Fantastic location to explore Oxburgh Hall the next morning, a two minute walk.
Polite, efficient staff easy check-in and check out with an adequate breakfast.September 2016

“Pub Grub”

We popped in last night unannounced with 3 dogs. We sat in the new veranda on a balmy evening 30C. Food and attention were excellent and the dogs made most welcome with treats and water. I had a superb plate of Gnocchi followed by a sumptuous chocolate mousse and my wife had prawns with skinny chips on the side.September 2016

“Sunday Lunch”

Nearly a year on from our first visit, couldn’t believe we could have had another really good experience. After a 5 mile walk for a treat we had booked a table in the bar as we had a dog with us. Again greeted by the owner and madecto feel very welcome with special attention given to the dog. Although very busy staff were helpful and polite and didnt hurry us or pester to buy more drinks. Overall the atmosphere very genial in the bar. Various options on menu but we all decided on the roast, food presentation excellent & it was delicious. Only to be topped by the puddings and cheeseboard. Thanks again for helping to make a lovely day out.September 2016

A pilgrimage to Walsingham – The Bedingfeld Arms a truly great place to start!

We have just returned from an annual pilgrimage to Walsingham in Norfolk – Everyone who is able should find time in their busy lives to reflect – just get away from it all to find some inner peace and tranquility – This for me and 21 fellow pilgrims started at the Bedingfeld Arms on Saturday 3rd September 2016. We held a dinner in the Hotels new ‘Wood and Stone’ dining room – smart, elegant – great food and great and gracious service – what better way to start a most memorable few days – spiritually refreshed coupled with the memory of good food and wine.September 2016

Nice, friendly and relaxing place

We were super well received by the owner. The food was lovely and the atmosphere friendly and relaxing. The view from the garden looking at the Oxborough Chantry chapel is amazing. We did a beautiful circular walk on a walking trail starting from Oxborough Hall and we even had a swim in a pond during our walk!.September 2016

Bedingfeld Arms

It’s our 2nd visit good selection of vegetarian meals on the lunchtime menu I can recommend the bean burger and the bedingfield burger.Our second visit with friends was a Sunday evening it was an anniversary celebration they dressed the table and made the evening special.The service was excellent. Can’t wait to try the a’la carte menu.August 2016

Rurally Nice

Let’s not be petty here,this is a tremendous old place with great rural charm brought back to life and much enhanced by the present owners.OK so you might find a bit of dust and the odd spider but this as rural Norfolk village as you will find,the food and drink may be a bit pricey (normal for Norfolk ?) but the staff are great,and the the pub atmosphere has a really nice old world charm done to perfection.Oxborough Hall is within staggering distance, this place has real honest rural charm.(Sybil sorry mind before mouth! Catkin give the staff a pay rise they do you proud!)August 2016

“A lovely evening”

We visited the Bedingfeld arms for dinner to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The food and wine were both excellent and we really enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere. We would highly recommend a visit.June 2016

“Best Steak Sandwiches”

Stopped here for and luckily ordered steak sandwiches from the comprehensive lunchtime menu. They were the best I have tasted anywhere!
This was a typical country pub with fine ales, good selection of wine and a lot of hospitality.June 2016

“Friendly, clean and quiet”

A lovely small friendly hotel with interior and exterior courtyard rooms. Plenty of seating for drinks and eating with outside areas for warm evenings as it was last night with sheltered patio and gardens, sun room and bar and restaurant area. Food was of a good standard with wine list to compliment. Very well situated for visiting Oxburgh Hall across the road which is well worth a visit.June 2016

“Rare to find in England”

A decent room, good service, pub with above average food , excellent breakfast in a perfect location. I’m fed up with paying through the nose for dingey hotels in the UK , its great to find the odd exception.May 2016

“Just passing with friends”

We stopped for lunch and went for a small option. my friends had the burger my partner the anti pasta mixed meats and I had fish of the day which was amazing. salmon, chilli, garlic with a mix of squash and other delightful veg selection, dauphinoise mash all set out in a beautiful way. we will be back!!May 2016

“A very pleasant stay”

My husband and I stayed at the Bedingfeld Arms midweek, whilst enjoying a short break in Norfolk. The staff were friendly, and we were greeted by one of the owners and made to feel very welcome. We stayed in the coach house, and the room was lovely and comfortable- it had everything we needed and although not huge was a good size. Bathroom spotless and big, no bath but we weren’t bothered about that. We ate at the pub in the evening and the food was very good as was the service. This is a lovely quirky pub with rooms and is a fantastic place to stay if you are in the area, especially if visiting Oxborough Hall. The church next door to the pub also has some rare terracotta tombs, and is also worth a visit.May 2016

“Lovely building”

One night just wasn’t enough. Beautifully decorated and furnished good quality with tasteful and thoughtful touches
The food was very tasty and nicely presented the new terrace/conservatory where breakfast is served is stunning
This is a worthwhile stopover for the tourist or business traveler with the beautiful national trust property next door.April 2016

“Superb hospitality”

We stayed here overnight and were absolutely thrilled to bits with our choice of hotel! Firstly the friendly staff, from the moment we walked through the door, they were excellent!! We had room one in the courtyard and it was beautiful! It was very comfortable, spotlessly clean and very well equipped.
We had breakfast and it was superb! Well worth the money. Excellent choices, nice quality and great portions too!! I’m Gluten Free and they offered me GF sausages and lovely bread rolls, what a treat!
We would definitely go back and strongly recommend it to family and friends alike!!!April 2016

“A lovely hotel, we will return”

We have just returned from two nights at this hotel. We have previously stayed in Thornham, Kings Lynn and Stratton’s in Swaffham but we see this hotel as our place to holiday now. For me, customer service is everything and when we returned from a long day out into to a packet pub at 9pm we were greeted and asked if they can bring us some tea or hot milk for the kids, that is just fantastic. We had the Green Sleigh room which was spacious ( we have two children) clean and a very nice place to be in. We dined one night there with our family who are local and everyone was impressed. Breakfast is cooked to order from a comprehensive menu and again in a very friendly atmosphere, today the children were given Easter Eggs. They found out about the local church services and had someone who would show us the way. The hotel/restaurant is lovely in a beautiful setting opposite Oxburgh Hall which was fantastic today as well. The hotel would be great in the summer, it has a brand new extension and terrace. It is in a good location, we headed up to the north coast each day taking approx 45mins. See you again next year!March 2016

Good Choice

We stopped here after a long walk which started and finished at the pub. Good choice of hearty food in lovely surroundings. Staff very attentive.November 2015

Faultless & Friendly. Highly Recommended

Everything excellent. Location, ambiance, staff, food – couldn’t be bettered. I’m suffering at the moment with various food intolerances and they couldn’t have been more accommodating. The only minor issue (and it is minor) is that we had a four poster room which I’m sure is difficult to light because the canopy provides so much cover, but I would recommend taking a head torch if you stay in room 8!November 2015

Wonderful

Had a lovely stay at the Bedingfeld Arms. Rooms were spotlessly clean and comfortable. Food superb. Had a small dog with us and was accommodating in pub. Staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble. would definitely recommend. really relaxing breakNovember 2015

Heaven

Without doubt one of the finest hotels we stay in. The staff, food and ambiance are excellent and the owner makes absolutely sure that you feel welcome. Nothing is too much trouble and our room and en-suite were sparkling. We have stayed here before and after an horrendous time in Blakeney with an agent double booking our cottage rental followed by a couple of nights in an hotel in Norwich that aspires to be The Bedingfeld but somewhat fails, this was a little piece of heaven. Highly recommended. October 2015

Traditional Sunday Lunch

Randomly chose the Bedingfeld Arms to meet family for a spot of Sunday lunch. I did not really know what to expect, but probably the best Sunday lunch I’ve had out for several years. Highly recommended. (Only negative point was being charged £2.20 for a lime and soda water which was more expensive than half a pint of Amstel). October 2015

Enjoyable Meal

My wife and I were driving past and stopped on spec for dinner. We were very pleasantly surprised by the service the ambiance and the quality of the meal. We can certainly recommend the Bedingfeld Arms restaurant as well worth a visit.October 2015

Wonderful

I booked this hotel not knowing anything about it! It is a real find, the pub area of the hotel is superb. The staff are mainly very young and if this is a good example of young people then long may it continue. They are helpful, polite, welcoming, hard working and very professional. Well done to you all you made our stay even better. Nothing was too much trouble for any of them.
The food we ate was lovely and couldn’t be faulted, along with the service once again.
The room was warm and comfortable with everything you needed and I’m quite sure if you wanted anything it wouldn’t be too much trouble to get it for you.
We will visit again and again. Thank you for a lovely stay
October 2015

Not A Bed In A Field

A wonderful place in the country.
The welcoming staff were a great first impression, this continued throughout our stay, nothing was a too much trouble.The rooms were very well presented and the beds really comfortable.
It is hard to describe the food apart from wonderful – a country pub that doesn’t do standard pub fare but excels with food any high end restaurant would die for. The bar area was warm and cozy with a great atmosphere. Well done to everyone at The Bedingfeld Arms for a great weekend from our family.
Not sure I should tell people about this place, it may get too busy to come back to!!
Stayed October 2015, travelled with family. October 2015

Has It All

This place ticks all our boxes. We’d stopped by for a drink in the past but never stayed. We weren’t disappointed. It’s a lovely part of Norfolk which is easy for us to get to from east London. Will definitely stay again ( and again and again I imagine! ) My only fear is that they’re doing an extension to the side. In summer, the garden is a fabulous place to have a sandwich and a drink. The garden is being reduced in size to make way for the extension so I do hope the spirit of the place isn’t lost.October 2015

Perfect Getaway

My friend and I stayed here last night, 10/09/15. I was in the wonderful Bedingfield Suite. Lucky me! The room was wonderful. Large and airy with a fantastic bed and an amazing stone fireplace. The bathroom was just as nice with both shower and bath. Bubble bath provided (with candles to add a bit of romance if desired). We had booked for dinner at 7. After enjoying a nice gin and tonic at the bar (nice choice of gins btw) we went through to our table. Our meal started with a shared baked Camembert with a tomato and chilli relish on top, served with warm bread. Oh boy, that was delicious.. This was followed by a vegetarian bhuna for me and my friend had the fish pie. Both were superb. I had a few glasses of the House white. Very nice indeed. My friend had a glass of Merlot, which again was just as nice. Feeling too full for pudding, we went back through to the bar and sat on the leather couches to finish our evening. The bar is decorated in such a way that it feels very comfortable but also has a slight air of ‘difference’ to it from other establishments. All staff were eager to help and whilst not intrusive, were in the background should you need anything. A perfect balance met. We met Catkin, the very lovely owner of the Arms. She was warm and welcoming and also very helpful. When I asked if a fan was available (the weather had flipped again and the sun was out in strength once more) she told me where to find it in my room and if i needed another, she would fetch it, but what I really appreciated was the extra thought that she gave by asking if I needed an adaptor plug so I could use the bedside lamp at the same time. Small things like that make you realise you are not in a run of the mill establishment. The Arms is located practically next door to Oxborough Hall, so if you are visiting there, be sure to call in here as well. You won’t be disappointed. Make it even better by staying the night. We will definitely return. October 2015

Excellence

This has to one of the nicest placed we have ever stayed in. A beautiful location with plenty to do or simply relax in the lovely rooms and enjoy the delicious and wonderfully presented food. We stayed here for a week whilst house hunting in the area. The staff were all lovely and Catkin’s enthusiasm and genuine desire to please was second to none. An excellent hostess! We will be back! October 2015

Very Enjoyable Lunch

We called in today after taking a walk around the area. I enjoyed a lovely pint of Woodforde’s Wherry while waiting for our lunch, homemade veg burgers, fries and salad and we both found it delicious and filling. The pub itself is clean and nicely decorated and we would definitely go there again.We had hoped to take a look around Oxborough Hall in the afternoon but unfortunately it is closed on Thursdays. September 2015

Cosy

If you’re visiting Oxburgh Hall, it will be enhanced by a visit here. Named after the local family (still living at Oxburgh) this pub makes you feel welcome. Comfortable seating, wealth of books and an excellent selection of “Tottering by Gently” prints show that the owners know their market and make every effort to cater for them. Food’s good, as is the choice of beers/wines. Enjoy your visit.September 2015

Wet Friday

Lovely to walk in to a friendly welcome, quick round of drinks then to the table. Food was excellent, my vegetarian hamburger was very tasty as were the home made chips. The large portion beat me but was most enjoyable. Others in the party, 5 of us also said how nice it was.
We had last been there at lunchtime a year ago and will certainly come back at a future date.
September 2015

Perfect getaway

My friend and I stayed here last night, 10/09/15. I was in the wonderful Bedingfeld Suite. Lucky me! The room was wonderful. Large and airy with a fantastic bed and an amazing stone fireplace. The bathroom was just as nice with both shower and bath. Bubble bath provided (with candles to add a bit of romance if desired)
We had booked for dinner at 7. After enjoying a nice gin and tonic at the bar (nice choice of gins btw) we went through to our table. Our meal started with a shared baked Camembert with a tomato and chilli relish on top, served with warm bread. Oh boy, that was delicious.. This was followed by a vegetarian bhuna for me and my friend had the fish pie. Both were superb. I had a few glasses of the House white. Very nice indeed. My friend had a glass of Merlot, which again was just as nice. Feeling too full for pudding, we went back through to the bar and sat on the leather couches to finish our evening. The bar is decorated in such a way that it feels very comfortable but also has a slight air of ‘difference’ to it from other establishments. All staff were eager to help and whilst not intrusive, were in the background should you need anything. A perfect balance met. We met Catkin, the very lovely owner of the Arms. She was warm and welcoming and also very helpful. When I asked if a fan was available (the weather had flipped again and the sun was out in strength once more) she told me where to find it in my room and if i needed another, she would fetch it, but what I really appreciated was the extra thought that she gave by asking if I needed an adaptor plug so I could use the bedside lamp at the same time. Small things like that make you realise you are not in a run of the mill establishment. The Arms is located practically next door to Oxborough Hall, so if you are visiting there, be sure to call in here as well. You won’t be disappointed. Make it even better by staying the night. We will definitely return.September 2015

Excellance

This has to one of the nicest placed we have ever stayed in. A beautiful location with plenty to do or simply relax in the lovely rooms and enjoy the delicious and wonderfully presented food. We stayed here for a week whilst house hunting in the area. The staff were all lovely and Catkin’s enthusiasm and genuine desire to please was second to none. An excellent hostess! We will be back!September 2015

BEAUTIFUL LOCATION!

My friends and I went for lunch, we all had the homemade burger with chips from the bar menu. The food was really tasty and the portions were a good size. The bar and waiting staff were really friendly and helpful. The “pub” is in a lovely location with a garden, would definitely go back.September 2015

Another visit

Last time we visited, a few weeks ago I rated here a 4, due to my daughter being stung by a wasp in the restaurant. However I’m pleased to report that on this occasion, we were not troubled by wasps! Onto the review. My wife and daughter had sandwiches, ham and steak respectively. The ham sandwich was good and the chunky chips served with it certainly lived up to their name. The steak was cooked perfectly and was served on ciabatta. I had the fish pie. Excellent, truly excellent. Served with seasonal vegetables that were cooked perfectly, nice and crunchy and fresh. The fish pie was topped with cheesy mash and fish inside was gorgeously soft with a superb sauce. Probably a little more expensive than most country pubs, but I have to say worth every penny. Looking forward to our next visit!September 2015

Fabulous experience every time

For consistent great service and value for money , we always go to the Bedingfeld Arms. The menu reflects local sourced produce and dishes are changed on a regular basis to suit the most discerning palette . There is also a fabulous choice of wines, beers and ales to accompany your meal and for those who prefer not to partake, a non alcoholic fruit cocktail selection. A caring oasis in a frazzled world.August 2015


A real hidden gem

We had a four poster room in the main house a great night’s sleep it’s so peaceful. We had an evening meal in the restaurant my partner has food allergies but nothing was too much trouble for the kitchen staff and our food was excellent.we had breakfast that was great as well.August 2015

Dogs Delight

Stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 medium sized dogs, staff so friendly and welcoming. Fenced green 50 metres away for your dogs to do what they will with a poo bag bin by the gate. Food good and reasonably priced in a cosy environment. Broadband connection great but country speed, but then you are in the country. Random mobile phone signal just like at home so situation normal.The staff make this place so good and we would definitely stay again, thank you.August 2015

Perfect spot to prepare for a wedding

We recently ‘took over’ the Bedingfeld Arms to enable us to prepare for our daughters wedding at the nearby Red Barn. Amongst the family and friends who stayed were the brides family, grooms family, bridesmaids, best men and of course the bride and groom! Although we all live nearby in Swaffham/Norwich/Watton we wanted somewhere where we could all be together from the Friday night until Sunday morning and the Bedingfeld Arms was the perfect place. All the rooms were cosy and comfortable and met all our various needs. Although we had a photographer, videographer, hairdresser and make up artist around on the Saturday morning there was a lovely sense of calm. Thank you to Catkin, Amy, Sophie and all the team for making our stay at the Bedingfeld Arms so enjoyable and for being so accommodating. We all had a lovely meal on the Friday evening in your restaurant. We enjoyed our various breakfasts both mornings and lunches on Saturday. Thank you Amy for the ‘room service’ so that the bride did not see the groom on the Saturday morning. Special thanks from the bride and groom for the romantic lighting of the candles and the welcoming bath that greeted them in the Bedingfeld Suite on the Saturday night. It was so welcoming and just what they needed at the end of their special day.Lastly thank you to Catkin for sharing with us all the lovely photos you took, we are so grateful.August 2015

Lovely stay in a relaxing environment

This is a lovely location and they have a great hotel. With all the space around it is a shame their isn’t more parking. If you are staying here get here early if you want to park near by. The arrival was professional and we were given a very comprehensive safety brief. The staff do seem quite dominated by the restaurant and seem quite inexperienced but very helpful. They have very comfortable beds we had a great nights sleep. The restaurant closes at 21:00 so don’t leave it to late to check in. This hotel has one of the best breakfast I have had in a long time. I would highly recommend this establishment.August 2015

Lovely Meal

Just booked at the last minute for a Sunday evening meal. Lovely service and food and a very pleasant garden for pre-dinner drinks. Even on a Sunday there was a varied menu, not just roast dinner. Had Venison with lots of veg. All really well cooked..August 2015

 

Beautiful Location

This is an a beautiful, old inn in an equally beautiful setting (would recommend making a day of it and visiting the Hall opposite.
The service was welcoming and the food was good, although not all the dishes were well balanced – a couple of us had a pork dish that was very sweet and crying out for some potatoes or rice to balance it out. It would have been fine if we had been advised to order some chips to go with it. Other than that, we thoroughly enjoyed our visit.August 2015

A great place to eat when visiting Oxborough Hall

Just outside the gates of Oxburgh Hall, The Bedingfeld Arms was a very convenient place for lunch after visiting the Hall. (We preferred to eat there rather than the cafe at the hall after disappointing experiences at other National Trust properties.) Food was available all day and was very good; we only had sandwiches or light bites, but main courses looked good too.The menu had a good variety of dishes.Seating was available outside and inside. Service was a bit slow, but they were very busy.August 2015

Very comfortable pub with great menu choice

I went traditional and ordered the beer battered cod, chips, minted mushy peas and cockle tartar! All of the flavours were well balanced and the food was cooked well. It was a really nice pub lunch and I would visit again.August 2015

 

Great atmosphere, hidden gem, really Good food

We are lucky in OXBOROUGH to have this gem in the centre of our small parish. Three rooms for dining or just chilling, great beers and very good wine. Personally it is the Pinot Grigio Blush that makes a lovely drink. Hubbie likes the various real ales. BUT the food is very good. A wide range of dishes including those which stretch culinary skills such as the falafel scotch egg. Love the generous sharing platter. For a main the chicken with lemon fondant potato and veg or the home made fish pie, or steaks are all excellent. AND lots of great deserts. Last week I shared the cheese platter with celery chutney and frosted grapes and we loved it.
Well done to Catkin, Sophie and staff for the ambience, efficiency and wonderful atmosphere.
Oh, and the garden is big and lovely too!August 2015

Great & varied menu

The menu was varied and three generations of us found something we liked. The fish pie was particularly good. We liked the fact that you could have smaller sized portions for quite a few of the main meals as this meant we could have room for more than one course. Staff were friendly and helpful even though it was busy.August 2015

Fantastic every time

My partner and I stopped in last night (a Monday) for some dinner and as always the food was 5 star, the service was impeccable and we had a fantastic time. The falafel scotch egg is a must try as was completely delicious! We will be visiting again!August 2015

Super summer supper

My boyfriend and I visited the Bedingfield Arms whilst visiting the area for a short break. We stumbled across the pub/restaurant online, and are so glad we did!
Our table was booked in for 7.30pm on a Monday, and as we arrived we were greeted by a friendly member of staff who enquired whether we wished to have a drink in the bar or go through to our table. We opted for the latter, and were shown to our table. The member of staff (a tall young man) was knowledgeable about the menu and gave us information of the specials and any changes to the menu. We shared the tapas starter, which was all delicious, especially the stuffed peppers.
I had the stuffed aubergine for my main, and my other half opted for the chicken burger. Both were delicious and well presented. I highly recommend the Bedingfeld Arms for anyone in the area. The staff and service were faultless, and the food was great value. We even returned for a drink the next day after visiting Oxburgh Hall due to how much we enjoyed our meal the night before. We will be back!August 2015

UNEQUIVOCAL!

 I booked a lunch table for 2 about a week before as a surprise for my wife. In conversation with Sophie about the plan she was quick to tell me that Oxborough Hall was closed on a Thursday which saved an essential part of the day out because I then chose today, Wednesday instead and a lovely sunny day it was. She also agreed to give us a table by the window as we like a light area in a dining room. We arrived about 20 mins. earlier than our table booking and could have taken it up straight away but we preferred to take a drink in the garden first ( and yes be warned the wasps are quite persistent at the moment ). We chose the duck and the Scotch egg for our starters, both superb. The chicken breast as a main was so tasty but I, at the last minute, chose the roast lamb with mint mayonnaise in a sandwich as a substitute for the pulled pork which had actually been pulled ( from the menu ). What an inspired ” outcome ” it turned out to be, delicious taste and so tender.The ” icing on the cake ” was that management noted my reference to a birthday lunch for my wife and this was demonstrated by a birthday card and small bottle of Prosecco being presented on the table. A big THANK YOU to all concerned from us both as the experience, food, service, and location were all excellent.August 2015


Almost a 5 but..

We’ve often thought about popping in here for a meal and decided to try it out today. The pub itself is very clean and welcoming and the restaraunt area that we were seated in was comfortable with perhaps an “olde worlde” type of feel. The lunchtime menu was not huge but had a good selection. Prices were perhaps a little higher than a typical country pub but the quality of the food was a fair reflection on the higher prices. The only reason I can’t give a 5 was because whilst eating, my daughter was stung by a wasp. It was quite a hot day and I guess this time of year you do expect to see wasps but to be stung in a restaraunt was perhaps a bit too much? We were going to sit outside but due to the number of wasps outside we decided it might be safer inside. Another family group sitting outside had to bring their meals inside due to the number of wasps around. Perhaps there’s a nest nearby?August 2015

Dog Friendly

We booked the bedingfield arms as a last Minuite mid week break. We took our 6 month old puppy Ellie with us as they have two designated dog friendly rooms in the stables , and we were able to take her into the bar.
The bedingfield arms is situated opposite a national trust property that doesn’t allow dogs so we concentrated our break on daily walks nearby, which was a great way to see the local area. If you are looking for a tranquil break this is the place to go.
The staff and owners are super friendly and made us feel a welcome presence. We were able to take breakfast and dinner in the bar area with our dog , where the staff set up a table especially for us . We were never hurried and Ellie received daily doggy treats from both the staff and catkin the owner. (Catkin also introduced Ellie to all her regular clientele which was so sweet)
The food was locally sourced and beautifully presented . The deserts here are amazing and worth a visit for those alone especially the sticky toffee pudding. We don’t eat meat but there was enough variety on the menu to overcome this in the evenings.There isn’t a vegetarian breakfast option on the menu but again we were offered a suitable cooked alternative and the staff even offered to go and buy some veggie sausages for us ( which we told them not to do as we were happy with the mushrooms, tomatoes beans and eggs ) . Perhaps a few more salad items on the evening menu would be a good addition as there was only one vegetarian choice on the mains , as we eat fish we were fine but for raunch veggies perhaps not ideal.
The accommodation was fine for a base , some of the items in the room were a little worn but. As we were using the room as a base it was ok for us. Plenty of tea/ coffee / toiletries etc were provided .
The area is rural so apart from the bedingfield and a church and the national trust monument there isn’t much to do. Neighbouring villages were similar and a few pig farms around, but a short drive will take you into swatham a small town with antique shops and of course plenty of walks , forests nearby. Driving towards Kings Lynn will take you to the local beaches great for dog walking.
Wifi is free if you feel the need to be connected , but phone signals are not great so it really makes you switch off work mode . We enjoyed our stay and would return for a tranquil break.
Room Tip: The stables are located in the grounds next to the hotelJuly 2015

Sunday Lunch – Excellent

Today ate Sunday lunch here. The staff were professional and pleasant. Three real ales on pump – the Wherry was first-class. The food was tasty and well presented. Two of us had the roast pork, one the chicken and the fourth (a troublesome veggie) had a delicious roasted stuffed aubergine with herb potatoes and a salad. Excellent and good value for money. The pub and facilities we used were all spotless and well-maintained, unusual these days unfortunately. It’s not a traditional English pub but then they are disappearing fast. If I have one criticism: the veggie options are very limited. In fact, the aubergine was the only main-course dish the vegetarian could have chosen, although fish & chips was available. They’d need to address the non-meat options before I return, but with a couple of extra choices (chef please note) I’d be delighted to go back time and time again.July 2015

My best kept secret

Unfortunately, due to pure excitement, I have to share my best kept secret. I rarely visit Norfolk, but, when I do, I make a point of visiting this delightful pub for a drink, supper or coffee. The pub is beautiful, cosy and welcoming; the food is tasty, filling and majestic; and the owners are some of the nicest individuals I’ve had the pleasure to meet. If you’re in the area, or even an hour away, you must visit here for a fantastic experience.If I could give it 6 out of 5, I would have in a flash.July 2015

Should I have said something?

The decor is really lovely… classy and elegant and yet welcoming. We went as a foursome, didn’t book. They found a table for us very quickly, it was very friendly service, the food arrived quite fast… Our friends each had a veggie platter which they said they liked. My husband and I each ordered the fish pie – which was good but (in my case) not quite hot enough, and the sauce was a bit runny – but – you know what? – I couldn’t be faffed to complain as it would have meant having it taken away, and then I’d have been ‘behind’ everyone else… So I just put up with it. I don’t really know if that was the right thing to do. It certainly tasted very nice and was well filled, and the cheesy-mash on top was pretty good too. We had a selection of puddings which were very prettily presented and with intense flavours – all very good indeed. So overall, it was a 9/10 score from me.July 2015

Delightful Pub

Called in at this pub when I got a bit peckish whilst out cycling. The staff (who were charming) not only made me feel very welcome but stored my bike in a safe place while I ate my meal! I thoroughly enjoyed my meal in delightful surroundings and was extremely impressed with the service I received. I shall definitely go back and would highly recommend it to others (especially cyclists….)July 2015

Very nice Sunday lunch

We have just been to the Bedingfeld Arms for a very lovely Sunday lunch. The majority of our party had the roast and we were all very happy with the quality and amount we got, both the beef and pork are highly recommended and the huge Yorkshire puddings are to die for! My mum had the ham, egg and chunky chips and salad and didn’t notice that the ham had been forgotten, something that was very quickly and apologetically put right. All in all it was a very pleasant experience with really nice helpful staff, we will return, soon.July 2015

Try the scotch egg

Ate alone. Felt quite comfortable, staff were very welcoming.
I had the scotch egg to start with a chilli chutney – have to say it was bloomin’ lovely, I’d go back just for that.Followed this with the Chicken with lemon and basil pesto sauce (I think it was called this), it was served with green beans, mange tout and potato, didn’t really need the spud as with the creamy sauce it was just a little too much, but I know that people think if they don’t get a carb’ the meal isn’t complete. Downed this with a glass of Aspells – the old stalwart (and they do know how to look after their draught lines) clean and fruity, clearly they sell plenty.July 2015

A very caring place

A very caring place. Very helpful and professional staff (esp Adam & Becky). Room very clean and welcoming. Hotel imaginatively decorated and furnished…July 2015

Great lunch

Visited at lunch, we all had a different sandwich. They were all lovely, the bread was so fresh and plenty of it too. Will revisit ib the evening to try the extended menu which looks nice too.June 2015

Great location, good honest food

After visiting the lovely Oxburgh Hall which is opposite to the Bedingfeld arms.
We asked for an allergy menu. And was told on the menu there was GF labels. A varied menu with at least three GF options per section of starters, mains and puddings. I had the sirloin steak, onion and mushroom sandwich without the bread, it came with a dressed side salad and crisps. Also ordered skinny fries. It was very tasty and very good. Just what was needed. My boyfriend wanted the pork burger but that had sold out. He opted for the handmade beef burger and cheese it went down very well and loved the hand cut chips. My mum had prawn linguine which was a surprise with 10 prawns large, My dad had rib eye steak which was very nice and tasty.
For pudding I had a lovely white chocolate parfait with a lovely raspberry ice cream
My boyfriend had a lovely sticky toffee pudding with vanilla ice cream
Both mum and dad had vanilla ice cream and honeycomb.
Overall very nice and comfortable wasn’t rush.July 2015

Good honest food reasonable prices

We had been to Oxburgh Hall, and thought that we would take the opportunity of having a meal close by.
I was surprised by the menu, varied with good choices , so pawn linguine, steak and chips, beef steak sandwich (without the bread by choice) and beef burger. All were great.
Then the sweets, which were mainly for us ice creams – except one sticky toffee pudding all were outstanding
We were all very happy…June 2015

Tasty and good value

The food was well presented, vegetables fresh and beautifully cooked. The steak was well cooked and very tender. I enjoyed the chocolate brownie which was served with a locally salted caramel ice cream. My friend had the sticky toffee pudding with salted caramel sauce and said it was delicious. The breakfast was also yummy!June 2015

A sunday lunch worth every penny

This is a lovely pub in a nice setting.the bar and restaurant was decorated very nice and the you are made very welcome by the staff who were very pleasant and efficient.the drinks were nicely chilled and the food was excellent.the sticky toffee pudding was to die for.the starter and sweet were a reason price,what you would normally pay in a good pub but the main coarse was a bit more,but it was worth every penny and was one of the tastiest i have had.the beef was cooked to perfection.i was very satisfied with this place.June 2015

Excellent meal in a lovely inn

We had Sunday lunch at the Bedingfeld Arms. We began with a dink next to the welcoming fireplace. Next, we went to our table in one of the two dining rooms. Tasty roast pork with nicely cooked roast potatoes, vegetables, and delicious gravy (I wish that I could make gravy like that!). For dessert I recommend the honeycomb ice cream. The service was prompt and polite. It was our first visit and we will most definitely be returning. Two drinks, two lunches and two desserts came to just over £44. Finally, the building is clean and smart..June 2015

Amazing every time!

I love this place, the food is great and so is the atmosphere. My partner and I are regulars and if friends come to visit we know it is a sure fire win for everyone. I especially love the venison and bin ham blue burger! The staff are friendly and so is the decor!..June 2015

Short stay

Friendly staff, fantastic service, great remote location if you want to get away from the daily stress of normal life..June 2015

Excellent stay for our 49th Anniversary first class food lovely clean room and friendly staff

The food was excellent we arrived and booked in with very friendly welcoming staff, came down for a refreshing drink and sat talking to a couple of local people while ordering our food. We then sat and had a really excellent meal with a few drinks and out for a short stroll round the village and church ruins. In all a very pleasant short notice trip that turned into a very pleasant stay…June 2015

Superb

Great food and staff and location would return tx…June 2015

Excellent location / friendly and helpful staff

Relaxing and quiet and in a great location for visiting Oxburgh Hall and Gooderstone Water Gardens…June 2015

We were on our way home from East Anglia and wanted to see Oxborough Hall.

The food was excellent and the decor of the pub was very pleasant…June 2015

A very pleasant overnight stay

A peaceful, comfortable stay in very pleasant surroundings.A great location for Oxburgh Hall and surrounding area. Excellent evening meal in the restaurant . We will return…June 2015

great ‘last minute’ find

Great value as a last minute booking, nice room with big, comfy bed. Good food and helpful, friendly staff…June 2015

Great pub & hotel, amazing location

The staff were very friendly and excellent service from the time we arrived, to the fantastic a la carte food we had in the restaurant the food was amazing as was the location and service would defo stay again and recommend…June 2015

very enjoyable stay even for one night

We both enjoyed our brief stay a lot. Really nice and friendly staff a lovely owner. Situated in a quiet village an independent establishment providing breakfasts, lunch and dinner. The food was very good and our room was clean, quiet and comfortable, it was a good place to relax too. A great place to use as s base . The owner was very nice and genuinely interested our opinions of of our stay. This is certainly not Fawlty Towers…June 2015

comfortable with great food

We stayed in the Coach House which was very clean, warm and comfortable. The staff are very helpful and nothing seems too much trouble. Dinner in the hotel restaurant was very good, well cooked, tender, tasty steak and a truly delicious chocolate brownie. What stopped me giving 5 stars? Although the beds are great the pillows are flat and the shower was not brilliant although plenty of hot water. Well worth a visit and I’ll definitely be back.

Room Tip: Private coach house roomJune 2015


Extremely enjoyable, lovely place

There was nothing that was negative about the place.

Began with a good friendly welcome. Shown to our room which was very nicely furnished and spotless. The beds were very comfortable. Booked dinner and had excellent food and wine at reasonable prices in a lovely room with a great atmosphere. It was a hot night and I asked if we could have a fan. We were given a brand new one straight away. Great service…June 2015


“Excellent stay for our 49th Anniversary first class food lovely clean room and friendly staff.”

The food was excellent we arrived and booked in with very friendly welcoming staff, came down for a refreshing drink and sat talking to a couple of local people while ordering our food. We then sat and had a really excellent meal with a few drinks and out for a short stroll round the village and church ruins. In all a very pleasant short notice trip that turned into a very pleasant stay…June 2015

Super

Great food and staff and location would return tx…June 2015

Beautiful hotel, excellent staff and wonderful location

We were made to feel very welcome by the lovely staff and the hotel, location, food, and service was faultless. The bed was the most comfortable that I have ever slept in…June 2015

A really delightful break

No bad experience at all if we had to make a complaint it’s an error on our part for not booking the Bedingfeld suite for the extra night and having to move to the Blue Room. Loved the ambiance of the place and that it was peaceful, and such a delightful building. The food was in our opinion exceptional The staff were wonderful and so cheery obviously a very happy ‘ship’ will be returning!…May 2015

Community atmosphere in country town.

Walk around the country town, historic church and large manor house (National Trust). A place worth staying overnight, good food and nice location!…May 2015

A lovely one night stay

We found a late deal on lastminute.com so this was very much a spur of the moment trip. We had Room 8 (the Red Four-Poster Room) and it was absolutely lovely. The room was decorated beautifully, and the bathroom was lovely and modern with a large, very warm, clean and powerful shower! We ate in the restaurant in the evening and the staff were incredibly hospitable, and couldn’t do enough for us. The food was delicious, and I feel that the price reflects the quality and quantity of food. We will definitely be visiting again – a lovely location (nearly opposite Oxborough Hall!) and a beautiful hotel. I often forget to post reviews on here, but after such a fantastic stay last night, I knew I had to make sure that others stay here! Thank you.

Room Tip: The Red Four-Poster Room was lovely!!…May 2015


Coach House – great value for money, clean, newly refurbished, cosy

We stayed at what this hotel/pub describes as the Coach House – an outbuilding around the corner from the main area. Our room was newly refurbished, cosy, clean and elegant. Breakfast is nice (if a little on the expensive side), and the staff are absolutely lovely and really helpful…May 2015

b&b doesn’t get much better than this !

Room was excellent, breakfast excellent and the pub was very welcoming in a lovely country village…May 2015

Absolutely lovely 🙂

We arrived several hours early from Stansted and were greeted by very friendly faces. We relaxed with a drink in their lovely bar and were allowed to check-in within minutes. Our room was perfect for us – very clean, private and quiet. Super comfy bed, – small courtyard to have a cigarette. Food was lovely too. For a quaint, peaceful, relaxed old pub – it’s very difficult to find a single fault. We certainly hope to return again :)…May 2015

Great place, friendly staff, kids loved their window beds

Breakfast was excellent, but it should really be included in the price of the room. It’s not as if there’s a choice in the area. Dinner menu was a little limited, but it is a pub so forgivable.May 2015

Large, comfortable family room. Friendly, helpful staff

Fantastic setting next to a stunning National Trust property and an hour from the beach. We saw muntjac deer from our window too. We’d definitely return.May 2015

Great value for money

a beautiful location lovely bar and restaurant area.May 2015

Comfortable & friendly

The room was outstanding. The location is picturesque. Excellent food and a friendly welcome. I would thoroughly recommend.May 2015

We felt the staff from the very top love what they do, and felt very welcome. Lovely room, excellent food, top-of-the-range pub, and unbeatable location right alongside Oxburgh Hall.May 2015

Excellent customer service, accommodation, setting and room quality.

This is a beautiful place to stay .May 2015

Lucky find

Lovely place. stayed just one night whilst travelling to the east coast and wished we’d stayed longer. The food in the pub is lovely and reasonably priced, there plenty of books/games/toys tucked away for the children if needed. The room (we stayed in the block outside) was nice with plenty of room.April 2015

A lovely location. Great place to Stay and Eat!

Our four poster room in the main house was large, spotless and very comfortable. Whilst the shower was electric and a little timid, it was hot and more than adequate. We were rather warm overnight – but that was my fault ! I turned off one radiator but failed to see the other. For the £65 that we paid it was really good value. We ate in the restaurant and had a delicious meal. The shared tapas starter was excellent and huge. We both had pork belly and neither of us could fault our meal.. perhaps too much black pudding but that would be picky! Our excellent red wine was also very good value. The only downside of our evening was the gentleman at the table next to us. He moaned very loudly about everything and spent his evening encouraging his partner to do the same! Sadly his aim for the evening appeared be to ensure a free meal. We were very pleased with both our stay and our meal.

Room Tip: We didn’t have our dogs with us but great countryside for dog walking!.April 2015


Comfortable stay at an excellent price

We booked at the last minute and were pleasantly surprised by the discounted rate of £84 for bed and breakfast in a four poster room. The hotel has a lovely homely feel and the bar is a welcoming area with squashy settees and a roaring fire ( which was even lit on the Sunday morning). Our room was comfortable although the pillows were rather thin and the shower not very powerful. We enjoyed our meal in the restaurant – would highly recommend the homemade salted caramel ice cream. Our cooked breakfast was good with plentiful coffee although the presentation of the buffet items could be improved. All the staff were lovely, friendly and helpful and we felt very well looked after.The evening meal was lovely and the full english breakfast had not one bit of grease on the plate. The room outside in the annex was cosy and we were both really impressed. Will definitely stay there again as mum lives in Downham Market. Again we were really impressed at the quality for the price we paid!.April 2015

Brilliant Break

We really enjoyed our over night stop at the Bedingfeld Arms. Beautiful location. Lovely dinner and very friendly and helpful staff. A real gem!!.April 2015

Ideal for visiting the National trust property at Oxborough Hall

Breakfast a little expensive but still very tasty

Very comfortable bed and excellent food for the evening meal April 2015


Rainy day lunch

We visited one damp lunchtime whilst visiting the National Trust property opposite. The bar/restaurant area appears to be split into three areas/rooms. We chose the one to the left of the bar as the one to the right was laid for a party and the middle area was full of people having coffee and cake. We chose sausage & mash and king prawns with chilli garlic and linguine, followed by sticky toffee pudding and treacle tart. Was all very nice, the linguine was very tasty just a minor quibble that the prawns although plentiful were overly soft soggy and appeared to have a floury type coating. Staff were friendly and helpful. If we were passing we’d visit again. Two mains, two deserts and two drinks £47.April 2015

Nice rest at the Bedingfield

4 of us stayed for the night and found the Bedingfield to be a very relaxing break .My wife and I stayed in the four poster bedroom and it was the best nights sleep I have had in ages . We particularly liked the young manageress and her young team who all seemed bright and bubbly and ready to do anything to make us feel welcome . We enjoyed an evening meal that we considered to be excellent value for money and we will be returning soon.April 2015

Hall then light snack

Saw reviews on this place and they are well deserved. Great service. We had the starter platter to share which was perfect and fresh. Followed this with homemade ice cream. Felt the price was worth the money and yes we saw some of the full entrees and had food envy.April 2015

Another Norfolk Gem

We had completed a pleasant visit to Oxborough Hall and after quite a bit of walking around we decided to have a late lunch here. Lunches were served until 3.p.m. which was a bonus as we stayed at the Hall until 2 o’clock. There were a few diners just finishing their lunches and there were tables available. We were shown to a very nice room and we had a table for two. The menus were given to us promptly and the food was ordered at the bar. My wife chose the pulled pork sandwich – served with fries, coleslaw and side salad. It looked delicious and she assured me that it was. I chose the king prawns with spinach, garlic and chilli linguine. Absolutely superb! So we have discovered another gem in Norfolk. I would highly recommend this restaurant for the quality of the food, the service and the ambience.April 2015

Good restaurant food

A la carte menu was varied and food delicious. Originally, I would have preferred a bar meal because I was really just passing through but it was worth the effort and made for a very pleasant evening!April 2015

Good food

We visited on a blustery, rain swept day when we were still recovering from our hotel breakfast! So, only one main course was consumed which was delicious. Service was both welcoming and efficient!April 2015

Has got it right….

Had been on a guided walk at Oxburgh Hall (yes..it was snowdrop themed!) and booked in for lunch. Sat with drinks by the fire, browsing the papers and flicking through the book shelves, in comfy leather chairs before going through to eat. Nice meal and friendly service. On entering the place, it instantly felt right. That indefinable mixture of opposites:- smart yet casual, old-fashioned yet modern, expensive yet accessible, it made a pub Sunday lunch into something rather special. Just wish it was nearer!!March 2015

Warm welcome in Oxburgh

Friday lunch at this lovely pub/restaurant after a visit to Oxburgh Hall. We were made very welcome and the bar staff very helpful on drinks and menu selection. Good variety of options on the menu and good size portions when served. My guests had the baked brie, the cold cuts selection and I had the steak sandwich. All served promptly and the ingredients were high quality and very tasty! I can imagine this pub being very busy during he summer although there is plenty of outside seating and room for kids to run around. Well worth a visit!!March 2015

Exceptional

Early morning delivery to hotel caused a little noise, but not really a big deal. Comfortable fairly spacious room, clean & well presented. Friendly staff.March 2015

“Great location and brilliant staff”

The staff were very helpful and friendly. The pub is located in a pretty little village in a great location. We almost missed breakfast because we got up so late but I’m glad we didn’t as it was one of the best we have ever had !!March 2015

Hidden away

Really pretty setting in a often overlooked part of Norfolk.

Lovely building and cosy rooms.

V helpful staff and excellent food at a decent priceMarch 2015


Super stay

Stayed overnight on route to the Norfolk coast. Very nice location next to the church and also a short distance away from Oxborough Hall. Bedroom was part of a refurbished stable block and was very comfortable. Had a meal in the pub and this was good too.March 2015

Gorgeous Room

A beautiful suite with welcoming staff. Suite was perfect for our stay, huge en-suite and queen size bed, suite very nicely prepared. Breakfast was very nice with selection of cereals, yogurts and full english etc. Lovely stay, perfect room would definately recommend.March 2015

Bedingfeld Arms

Lovely pub, very friendly and helpful staff

Delicious dinner and comfortable bed – a great stay..March 2015


lovely friendly inn

Dinner and breakfast were very nice. Best scrambled egg ever according to my wife..March 2015

Very pleasant stay, warm and friendly staff

Nice location , quite and out of the way. There was a lovely log fire in the bar when we arrived, plenty of magazines in a rack to read. We had a lovely meal in the evening ,would recommended a stay overMarch 2015

Top Birthday Stay

Great staff, brilliant food and good accommodationMarch 2015

Very good experience

Booked this as a stop off to avoid a long drive to the coast. Had a very good price and against this value for money was excellent. Scenic location next to village church and Oxborough Hall. Comfortable room – had a nice meal on arrivalMarch 2015

Excellent

Clean warm and friendly Staff very attentive Room clean warm and comfortable Breakfast excellentMarch 2015

Excellent place to stay , lovely staff, wonderful food…..The best place we have ever stayed

Rob, and Hannah are excellent staff, fantastic food……definately comming back , you both made our stay superb….Very friendly local man made us laugh tooMarch 2015

A very welcome and relaxing short stay

The staff were extremely helpful and nothing was too much trouble they seemed very happy to assist in any way. They were very efficient. The food was very good and fairly priced. Marcos (my Labrador) was made just as welcome as we were and he also loved the Bedingfeld Arms.March 2015

Excellent!

The food was excellent, the room was spotless and the bed was comfortableMarch 2015

Very warm welcoming Nice all round stay

Everything really its a smashing place to stay VERY QUIET.. Very clean staff very nice good food would absolutely stay again & happy to recommend to all without hesitation

I can genuinely say that I do not think the customer service could have been any better. From friendliness, allowing us to use the pub/restaurant landline booking us in at the last minute for an extra night and a Valentines meal (which was also super value for money and very tasty). I definitely recommend and will book again myself. March 2015


Remarkable value and customer service

This bed and breakfast was very reasonably priced for the quality.March 2015

Just on our way past!

Just on our way past and having liked the place about 6 months ago, thought we would try sunday lunch. Great! I don’t usually like eating a roast dinner out as I usually end up thinking I could have done it just as well myself. Not here! Much better than mine…Feb 2015

A wonderful place to stay with great food

This is a charming, extremely comfortable place to stay. The rooms are furnished to a high standard, the beds are extremely comfortable with silky egyptian cotton sheets. On arriving we got such a warm welcome. The owner, Catherine Parker, is a delight and very informative. To top it all the food is delicious, including one of the best full english breakfasts I have ever eaten. I will definitely be coming back.Feb 2015

Excellent relaxed lunch

Lovely relaxed lunch with a friend. She is vegetarian and i am gluten free and we were both catered for easily and had very yummy food, particularly the dessert. Staff and friendly and helpful.Feb 2015

Needed a change

Just needed a get away few days and found this lovely old inn, that has been given a great make over, bedrooms very comfortable and modernised, plenty of room and nice en-suites. warm and welcoming lounges and bar, huge real fire, huge comfy sofas, reading material to suit everyone. booked the restaurant and had a super meal, not hurried out for next diners, tables a little close together, but nothing major. plenty of walking around the area, very flat so not overly strenuous, but very pretty. property right next to Oxborough Hall, very impressive 15th century hall beautiful.Feb 2015

Good food and comfortable

I’ve stayed several times at the Bedingfeld and it seems to get better each time. After a long drive it this week when I got there it was worth it.
Really good features and a warm welcome. Breakfast is worth getting up for!
Feb 2015

impromptu meal with friends

Pleasantly suprised,lovely meal, tasty food decent portions, difficult to choose meal as liked it all,friendly attentive service,would recommend and returnFeb 2015

Hidden gem

We were just passing through and were drawn in by the sign promising frothy coffee – what a fantastic pub this is – clearly a great deal of thought has gone into this place to create a lovely ambience, even when empty. From the interior design, furnishings, colourful signage over the bar and superb background music to the quirky statue of John Lennon (?) in the beer garden. 10 out of 10!! We shall be back!Feb 2015

Fantastic Food

Delicious gastro food,with excellent service. The soup was homemade as with all the dishes. I also ate one of the best full english breakfasts I have ever had.Feb 2015

Had the most wonderful time

Had the most wonderful time with you all a couple of weeks ago, Thank you so much for making our stay so special. Beautiful place, wonderful staff and food to die for. Thank you all so much, especially Hannah and Rob xFeb 2015

Thank you so much

Thank you so much for a amazing valentines meal last night, best food we have ever had. Caroline and Paul. XxFeb 2015

 

Another fantastic stay

Back home after another fantastic stay. Thanks everyone, David, Christine & Barney
Feb 2015

Great place to stay

Great place to stay. Fantastic food, and wine, staff really friendly/ helpful and dogs enjoyed there stay too. We will definitely be going back!Feb 2015

The accommodation was great

Feb 2015
Brought my wife for an overnight stay and evening meal. Well all I can say is awesome. The accommodation wa